The Wisest Counselor Silmaril Award: Let The Voting Commence!

good morning, cyberspace!

Ahem. *taps microphone* Mhm. Yes. I do believe this is working.

Good morning, m’lords and ladies, and welcome to the 2021 Silmaril Awards Voting Round for The Wisest Counselor! It’s been a wild rush of a week tallying nominations and jotting down seconds, and I am SO excited to finally present you all with the five names for our Wisest Counselor finalists!

According to our dear readers, these are the top five wisest characters of our age immemorial. And while I’ve had the pleasure to room them–plus some 50 other nominees–in my home for the last week, I can honestly say that I can see why. I’ve had so much helpful advice thrown at me the past 7 days that I have no clue how I functioned as a normal human being for the past 22 years without it!

*eye twitches as someone’s voice floats from off-stage*

One can never have too many socks…”

ALBUS SO HELP ME IF YOU ARE MESSING AROUND IN MY SOCK DRAWER AGAIN–ahem… Er. Never mind about that… It truly has been an honor to welcome these prestigious souls into my home, but I must say I’m glad to kick most of them out I’m excited to narrow down the pool of contestants to a more… er… manageable number…

Beana has been stress-nibbling a hole in my carpet and there’s beard hair in my soup and oh my GOSH ALBUS QUIT POKING AT MY SOCKS!

Which brings us to our topic today, of course, which is The Top Five Wisest Counselors! I have our list of finalists right here in my hands, and it is my deepest honor to be able to share them with you all today! At the end of this post there will be a voting form where you can cast your vote and make your voice heard, so make sure to vote for your favorites! This is the last chance you’ll have to make your voice heard, so it’s VITAL that you vote!

The fates of the mentors are in your hands, my friends!

>>> <<<

THE WISEST COUNSELOR SILMARIL AWARD: TOP FIVE CANDIDATES

BEANA – THE TALES OF GOLDSTONE WOOD BY ANNE ELISABETH STENGLE

A once-mortal now gifted with immortality, Beana is a Knight of Farthestshore, who has been tasked with protecting a strange little girl, Varvere, from harm. Gentle and wise, Beana tends to hide her true human form beneath the disguise of a talking Nanny Goat (which is, you know, completely norm–BEANA PLEASE STOP EATING THE CARPET!), but no matter which form she presents, her motherly and no-nonsense nature never wavers.

RENDAR – MOONSCRIPT BY H.S.J. WILLIAMS

The king of Aselvia by fate, celestial by blood, Rendar is the kind, empathetic ruler of the realm of the earth elves. Though he’s now separated from his people, he’s still able to communicate with them through a valuable treasure known as the Moonscript. Rendar is wise, patient, and firm, and his guidance flows from his belief and closeness in Ayeshune.

RAYAD – THE ILYON CHRONICLES BY JAYE L. KNIGHT

Rayad is a member of the Resistance council in Jaye L. Knight’s beloved series, The Ilyon Chronicles. Though a bit rough around the edges—and a wee bit of a rebel (he may or may not be wanted by the emperor? *cough*)—he is a continuous source of wisdom and comfort to those around him—especially those he takes under his protective wings.

NIA WINGFEATHER – WINGFEATHER SAGA BY ANDREW PETERSON

Daughter of a chaotic ex-pirate and mother to three slightly unruly children, Nia Wingfeather is the epitome of a woman making the most of rather unfortunate circumstances. She is kind, understanding, and gentle when the world would have broken her, and she pours her wisdom and love into her three kids, whom she adores more than life itself.

PUDDLEGLUM THE MARSH-WIGGLE – THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA BY C.S. LEWIS

Puddleglum the Marsh-Wiggle is a rather dreary sort of fellow who resides near the river Shribble. With a slightly pessimistic approach to existence, this humble wet blanket still tries to make the most out of life, and is available for a word or two of wisdom when least expected. (his weather forecasts, on the other hand, may not be the most reliable source…)

>>> <<<

VOTE NOW!

*technically you only have to click the link once to vote for EACH of the 11 Silmaril categories, but make sure you hop around to the other blog hosts (linked below!) to get the full Silmaril Awards experience! Trust me. You’re not going to want to miss everything the other hosts have planned! <3

>>> <<<

I’ve gotta say, friends, having my house filled with Wise Counselors is a LOT easier on the insurance than last year… *shudders in remembrance* (I certainly hope that Jem is doing okay with all those villains this year… And also that Christine’s house hasn’t burnt down yet? *sweats nervously*) Yeah. The more I think about it, the more I realize how truly lucky I am to be hosting this particular award this year. I’m sure our Awards Ceremony is going to go as smoothly as can possibly be desired! Aha…

…right?

>>> <<<

SILMARIL BLOG HOP

Least Competent Henchman … Josiah Dyck
Most Epic Hero … Madeline J. Rose
Most Epic Heroine … E.E. Rawls
Most Faithful Friend … Grace Taber
Most Magnificent Dragon … Christine Smith
Most Majestic Ruler … Sarah Pennington
Most Mischievous Imp … Tracey Dyck
Most Nefarious Villain … Jem Jones
Strangest Character … DJ Edwardson
Silver Tongue … Jenelle Schmidt
Wisest Counselor … Kenzie Keene (you are here!)

talk to me, peasants!

eep! Here we go, folks! It’s finally time to vote for your favorites! So tell me: DID YOU VOTE? And most importantly, who do YOU think is going to win this year’s Wisest Counselor? I personally feel like it could go any which way at this point, but I’m so excited to see the results! (and also someone remind me to read the books these characters are from because OH MY WORD THEY LOOK SO GOOD….)

Let’s talk about ALL OF THE BOOKISH THINGS down in the comments below, and as always, until next time…

* flings cookies in the air and disappears *

32 thoughts on “The Wisest Counselor Silmaril Award: Let The Voting Commence!

  1. *laughing* I love how even wise mentors can be a handful! *cracks up over the stress-nibbling and the beard hair and the socks* I love this post, and what excellent finalists! Particularly excited to se Beana, Rendar, and Rayad here. :D And yes, voting is going to be so hard. XD

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I voted! Still wondering how Dumbledore didn’t make it in the top five… Maybe it’s the socks. 🧐.

    Personally, I’m hoping that Nia wins, because I adore that Mama. Anyone else notice how strong the Wingfeather Saga has been this year?

    Also, wishing you the very best luck with the mentors. Make all your major life decisions/quests while you have ’em.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Heh. There is such a thing as TOO MUCH good advice, it seems! I’m lucky that about half my nominees never actually showed up at my house, since they were being housed by other hosts for other categories. xD

    This category may be one of the toughest ones to choose in for me! Moonscript, Goldstone Wood, AND Wingfeather . . . and then Puddleglum’s one of my favorite Narnian characters, so I’m half tempted to vote for him even though I think Narnia has enough Silmarils at this point that they should worry about whose attention they’re attracting. Decisions, decisions!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. DUMBLEDORE AND THE SOCKS THO. XD

    This was absolutely fantastic! I especially cackled at Puddleglum and his less-than-accurate forecasts. So true tho!

    I’m glad you’ve managed to keep an intact house this year after taking on the villains last year, you brave soul. (My house is at least a fourth of the way standing still so that’s…something.) Though I can imagine you’re practically deaf now from all the endless advice. And I hope Dumbledore didn’t runaway with all your socks…

    I know and love 3 out of the 5 here and ARGH. I don’t know how I’m going to choose! Why must this be so HARD? D’: Although I guess we should be grateful that there ARE so many characters to love out there! BUT STILL.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I swear, if that old man doesn’t return my socks…. 😂😂

      MEEP! I’m so happy you enjoyed my little post! This one’s probably one of the most difficult for me to write, simply because of the deadline and the fact you don’t want to incorporate TOO much chaos…. Mwahahahahaha…

      A fourth of the way standing???? Er….I feel like perhaps there should be some sort of insurance on hosting some of these categories. 😂😂😂 (also the advice is definitely helpful, but they WON’T STOP TALKING HELP)

      Oh I definitely know the struggle! It’s hard…. I struggled with a few of the other Awards, and I’m still shocked I managed to cast my vote within the first day. XD

      Like

  5. I love Puddleglum and he’s so good for this category but he won two Silmarils last year and he’d probably fret even more about having a third glittery treasure added to his wall–prime target for burglars, no doubt…UGH so many CHOICES (also Beana’s carpet snacking cracked me up xDD)

    Liked by 2 people

    • “Prime target for burglars, no doubt” — OH MY GOODNESS I’M DEAD. 😂😂😂

      I’m so so excited to reveal who won this year! I think it’s going to be an EXCELLENT awards ceremony….

      (And eep! I’m so glad you liked my Beana interlude! Lol, I wasn’t sure if it was normal or not, but I’m… not exactly normal so it’s fine. 😂)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh goodness, Kenzie, those asides are HILARIOUS. Dumbledore and the socks! Beana eating the carpet! XD

    I must say, I’m torn between Beana and Puddleglum (the other three I have yet to meet)… Ack, decisions!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, THIS. IS. PERFECT. “I’ve had so much helpful advice thrown at me the past 7 days that I have no clue how I functioned as a normal human being for the past 22 years without it!” < I'd never really thought about that, but I suppose hosting a bunch of old geezers in your home would mean a steady flow of wisdom—though perhaps not entirely a welcome one. And of course Beana would be munching on your carpet and socks. XD

    I think I know who I'll be voting for! So far, none of the categories are looking too difficult for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! I’m honestly thankful that I’m not hosting the villains again, but my goodness, the counselors are…. a lot. 😂 And YES. Such a steady flow of wisdom has never been heard of round these parts. I’ve gotten so much…er…helpful advice in regards to my writing and my blog. 😂

      Eep! That’s awesome! Some of the categories were easy for me, but there were a few tough decisions I had to make. It was hard. :((

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, I do hope you shall compile a book of all the wisdom you learned from these meany characters. That would be priceless!

    Such a fun post! I know exactly who I’ll vote for since I only know 2 of the 5. I can’t wait to attend the award ceremony!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.